1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

Childhood Ages and Stages

Expert Q&A


Updated August 13, 2008

Q. I am starting a daycare and wanted to know at what age a baby is not considered to be an infant anymore? Stefanie, Austin, Tx

A. General definitions for the ages and stages of a child include:

  • Newborn or Neonate - birth to 28 days
  • Infant - 1 to 12 months
  • Toddler - 1 to 3 years
  • Preschooler - 3 to 5 years
  • School Age - 5 to 11 years
  • Preteen or Tween - 11 to 12 years
  • Teen - 13 and older
These are not universal definitions though. The State of Texas actually defines an infant as 'a child from birth through 17 months' and a toddler as being from 'from 18 months through 35 months,' so those are likely the definitions that you should use.

These resources on child care licensing in Texas should also be helpful for you as you start your new daycare.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.